curiousillusion

Lightning strikes…

Posted on: June 3, 2009

About this picture… at around 2am I woke up to this really loud thunderstorm. I sleep with a pretty noisy fan in my room (can’t sleep without it) so I usually don’t wake up too much but this storm was loud and there was a lot of lightning. We haven’t had a GOOD t’storm in ages and my first thought was, ‘try to take a picture of the lightning!’. Just when I was about to call myself crazy, some friends on twitter encouraged me to do the same thing. So I dragged myself out of bed and outside in my pajamas to try to take pictures of the lightning.

I tried using the self timer on the camera but in the 5 seconds before it would take the shot, the lightning would happen and then it would be over by the time the shot was taken. So I just went with the good ol’ ‘cross the fingers and take a picture randomly’ method. This is what I came up with. I’m actually pleased with it, good for my first attempt and so even though the buildings are blurry, I’m going with it.

Now, I have to do a mini movie review. I know, it’s not Sunday but this is more like a “I just saw a movie and you HAVE to watch it”. The past few days, the movie “The Boy in the Striped Pajamas” (also spelled Pyjamas) was the talk of the kindergarten teachers. One of them raved about the movie, and shared it with one teacher, who passed it on to the next teacher. Eventually I ended up with it and was seriously forced to watch it. I wasn’t really into it at first, playing on twitter and flickr while it was on in the background. Then suddenly, it got really interesting. Very interesting. Horrifying and tragic but so very interesting.

Anyway, I don’t recommend you find out about the movie before you watch it, just know that it’s set during WWII and it’s about a boy who befriends another boy, who is on the other side of the fence at a camp. Know that it’s sad but powerfully moving. And that I recommend it.

Another movie that I recommend is called “Dear Zachary: A Letter to a Son About His Father”. It’s a documentary and the best thing I can tell you is do NOT google it. Seriously. Don’t. If you google it, you will ruin it for yourself. Just know that it is one of the most amazing documentaries I have ever seen, and it really is powerful.  I watched it back in January and it got me sad, it got me angry… I ranted about it for days after I saw it. It has nothing to do with “The Boy in the Striped Pajamas”, the only reason I thought of it was because I went into both movies knowing nothing and I think that’s part of the reason why they affected me so much.

I bet you guys are off googling now, aren’t you? Stop that and leave me comment love instead!

5 Responses to "Lightning strikes…"

I love this pic…in fact I’m going to try to copycat you next time there is a thunderstorm. I love thunderstorms, except when they scare the kids!

I saw previews for “Striped Pajamas” and I knew immediately I wanted to see it. I am fascinated with that whole time period. 1969 is another time I love to read about…I think I recommended “The Patience of Rivers” by Joseph Freida to you…that is set in 1969 in the Catskills which is where I grew up. Anyway if you like WWII another great book is a memoir by Elie Wiesel called “Night”.

I actually liked The Boy in the Striped Pajamas movie better than the book. (Review here if you’re interested.) I had a few issues with the book that they fixed in the movie. Very good story, but SO disturbing.

I have lots of WWII book and film recs if you’re interested…

That’s an amazing thunderstorm pic. You’re such a fantastic photographer, I’m not sure if I ever told you before. Great eye.

Nope…..not gonna watch them!!! You can’t make me!!!!

I don’t do well with sad movies but when I get back to the states I’ll watch them. The second one… I’m not so sure about. Now that I have my own kid that might be too much… and no, didn’t google but from what you said it makes me wary.

Good job with the picture today/this morning. I wish I could get some good pictures in. It isn’t for lack of trying… they just come out like shit.

The picture is awesome! I got struck by lightening when I was pregnant with my oldest. There is a story for the blog, haha. it is beautiful, yet I never had a fear of it until that point. Love your pic! Your awesome!

Leave a Reply

