curiousillusion

Isn’t life ducky?!

Posted on: June 2, 2009

Project 365 is a funny beast. 365 is a long time. (Sidebar: yes I haven’t even made it halfway through, I’m sure I’ll have a LOT more to say about the rest of the project down the road.. I’m only speaking from what I’ve learned thus far.) The first 100 are mostly easy, although at some point just before or after it gets a bit tiring… and there are times when it’s easy to pick a picture from the dozens you took that day… and there are times when it’s a drag to lift up the camera. And then there are days like today where it’s all just… funny.

I had a picture in my head, which would have gone well with a blog post. I took the picture at work but it didn’t come out right and I didn’t feel like reshooting at home, dealing with the lighting and all. I tried to edit the picture in Photoshop but it was getting tiring and finally I thought to myself “ugh, I don’t even feel like posting a 365 tonight”. Which has never crossed my mind in the past… even when I lack inspiration, I’ve never thought I wanted to quit.

So I got up and looked around the room, to take a picture of something. I found this rubber ducky, sitting on the kitchen counter, and put it on top of the TV, taking a few shots. My cat kept headbutting me, making all the pictures blurry but I kept trying… different angles, close up, far away..

When I sat down to go through my pictures, this one popped out at me. It made me smile. Something about the ducky’s expression just captures me. Plus I like the interesting colors in the background (the left is actually the corner of the wall, hence the darkness) that I happened to capture.

So no, this picture isn’t perfect. Won’t win any awards, heck won’t even make Flickr Explore. But it made me smile. And to think only a half hour earlier, I was thinking of not posting a picture at all.

7 Responses to "Isn’t life ducky?!"

This prolly will hit Explore! You get a lot of views/comments and that seems to drive it a bit. Aren’t you glad you went ahead and did it anyway? The halfway point is the end of *this* month!

Lol, you’re so funny, it DID hit explore. Eh, I don’t always get a lot of views and comments. Sometimes the pics I’m most proud of get neglected. :o)

And yes, very glad.. and wow almost halfway!

I agree that it will probably make explore. Saying it won’t is usually a sign that it will. Besides, you get like 7 or 8 a month…even if it doesn’t you’ll take something that will soon.

Okay well then I think my bubble picture and lightning picture won’t hit explore. :p

Lol.

I love it, it made me smile… awesome! You are truly talented!

lol @ your cat headbutting you. i know exactly what you mean by this!

365 is so up and down….i’ve had several days when i’ve not felt like posting and one of those hit explore too, haha. i hate the shot….and funnily too, it was the cute egg cup (a bit like the style of this duck!)

Leave a Reply

