curiousillusion

[still thinking]

Posted on: May 26, 2009

Sigh. Thanks for your thoughts on my blog and flickr page yesterday, I appreciate all of them. I’m still thinking about it and I’m not sure what conclusions, if any, I’ve come to. Some comments have made me more reluctant to get a dSLR… and some comments have made me more determined!

Someone suggested that I just get a better point and shoot camera, with more manual options. Mmm, nah. I think that while the point and shoot camera that I have right now is limiting, I don’t want to “upgrade” to another point and shoot. If I’m going to spend money on another camera, I’m going all out. I mean, not ALL out, but dSLR or bust.

On the other hand, some comments mentioned that since a dSLR isn’t as portable as a point and shoot, it doesn’t get taken out as much. That’s another concern I have… that I’d be too lazy or “embarassed” (for lack of a better word?) to take it out.

And btw, yup, I know that a camera doesn’t make one take better pictures. But for me, it’s the *possibilities*. The different lenses out there and the potential pictures I could achieve with them.

I liked the idea a few people had on my flickr page about starting a separate account and every time I wish I had a dSLR, make a donation to that account. Well, right now my savings account is my dSLR fund but I think it’s a good idea. Every time something about my camera irks me or I see a fantastic picture and I think “man I want a dSLR” I’m going to donate some money to my savings account. Probably only like $2 because it might add up fast and I still need to afford to live, lol…

Anyway, in non-dSLR news… I told my mom this weekend I was going to maybe join a gym when I moved and my mom’s reaction? “Good, I think that’s an excellent idea. You could lose a few pounds.” Lol, thanks mom. I mean, yes she has a point (actually I think my weight is probably alright, it’s just where it has accumulated that is the problem… I need to figure out the right exercise to target the tummy area).

Gotta love parental support, no?

18 Responses to "[still thinking]"

On the topic of “taking a dSLR out less frequently”…my blog post today talks about my quest for the perfect bag which will make me lug my camera around more often. I’m kind of bag-obsessed, but I think if I can get a messy bag that hits my specs, I might actually bring it with me.

http://mattstratton.com/2009/05/26/one-bag-to-rule-them-all/

Funny coincidence – my wife actually bought me TWO bags today for our anniversary (with the thought that I could pick one to keep), but unfortunately, neither of them hit my specs (she clearly did not read my blog today), so we’ll be returning them.

Oooh let me know if you find one. I saw a cute one on photojojo a few weeks back that looked like a bowling bowl bag… but I doubt that’s what you’re going for.

Awww, well at least your wife tried – that’s sweet!

OMG… your mom cracks me up!!!

I’ve no comment on the dSLR thing…. I’m not helpful. I think if you want one you should save up for it slowly. Then make your choice when you can afford it.

Ha yeah… no, not laughing. :p

You could also create a dSLR paypal account, and every time one of your blog commenters offers their opinion on Canon vs. Nikon, they have to donate $2 to you.

You’d have your camera in a week. 🙂

Hahahaha! I won’t comment on brand!

ha ha that might be a good plan!

Ha ha, well I created a dslr paypal account but I’m not sure if I can enforce that. LOL!

Here’s my two cents on the dSLR thing. I went from 35mm film to dSLR, so i never had a real point and shoot. But what i did learn was to be cost conscious. See, I had Minolta equipment and I wanted to recycle as much as possible. So I went with a Sony dSLR because my lenses would mount to both.

Here’s my point: unfortunately the body is only the initial investment. Lenses, filters, remotes, flashes, etc all add up as well. When you are choosing your camera body be thinking about the cost of accessories. Can you by 3rd party accessories or are you stuck with the manufacturer as your supplier? Can you get good used stuff (if it wasn’t for used Minolta lenses and flashes my costs would be nuts)? Does the manufacturer have a history of tweaking their designs to make it impossible to use old accessories (do they change lens mounts a lot)?

I know that is a lot to look in to before making your choice, but I think the homework is well worth the time to make sure you get what you really want.

Finally, it really is about personal preference too. How does the camera feel to you and how comfortable are you using it. The AF on my camera is terrible (especially with my 50mm – my favorite lens), and sometimes it takes all the fun out of taking pictures (especially selfies). I hope something goofy like that doesn’t sneak up on you.

Have fun and happy hunting (cause let’s face it, you are going to buy one :))!

Awww the good ol’ film days… and yeah, I see what you mean. That’s a good thing to keep in mind – man, I have a lot of homework to do!

And yeah, I think you’re right… I probably am!

I got mine as a reward to myself after completing my first 365 Days project – like you, I felt the limitations of the point and shoot as I worked my way through taking a picture every day. I’d agree that it’s not as portable, but the way I see it you’ll still have your point and shoot (unless it’s in as bad nick as mine!) to carry in your bag all the time as an “everyday” camera and you can take your SLR when you can. Win-win 🙂 xx

You’re definitely right, win-win indeed. And I’ll definitely have to just remember to bring the dslr with me on big occasions like weddings or whatever… maybe if I get into the habit, it won’t be so hard to remember.

I am having the same camera issue, I want something better, to give me the opportunity at the “possibilities.”

As far as the exercise, I am real slack there too… so I started doing pilates, awesome, easy and they work… and you can do them for free… check it out… I hate exercise and the thought of it as much as the next person, we can do this, together haha

Yeah, maybe we’ll get better cameras soon! Win the lottery?

Pilates for free, really? Hmmm, will have to look into that!

Oh wow, i can’t believe you’ve been shooting all those amazing pictures on a point and shoot! I had no idea!!

FWIW, I carry my D40 with me everywhere. Everywhere! It’s a little annoying because it’s so bulky, but I’m used to it!

You’ll get one eventually — I know you will!

Ah, I wondered what you used to shoot… you take amazing pictures (and I know the majority of the credit goes to you because you’ve got such a great eye). And I hope that I get used to carrying whatever I get around everywhere like you do!

honestly, with the enthusiasm and gumption you’ve given photography, it’s only natural that you move on from the point and shoot. You’ve out grown it! Your photos just keep getting better and better and I think if you got a different camera, they’d get even better than that because you’d have more room to grow and try new things! I understand to a certain degree people saying they are big or whatever, but I’ve had my D50 for the past four years and its like second nature to me. I take it everywhere. I just pop it in my purse or tote bag, I don’t carry along a separate bag for it, that would be annoying. Lens cap + UV filter = no problem! No one ever says anything about its size and I totally don’t feel uncomfortable with it. I can’t wait for you to get one!!!!!

Aw thanks Amanda. Well, since people have made a few donations to my dslr fund, there’s no more questioning it, I HAVE to get a dslr now. I mean, I have to save first and that might take a while.

You take SUCH great pictures with your D50, I’m always in awe! And I think I’ll be like you, just learn to take it everywhere til it’s second nature.

Leave a Reply

