curiousillusion

Lazy Sunday

Posted on: May 10, 2009

So I have to thank you again for all your book recommendations, I really appreciated them. And today I finally got to pick up a book. Actually, I picked up two. I purchased Water For Elephants and Queen of Babble Gets Hitched. Why? Well, Water for Elephants was suggested twice in the comments, plus it was already on my to-read list. And the other book is the third in a series that my mother introduced me to… really nice light reading, perfect for the pool.  Either way, I spent an hour in this Barnes & Noble, which has a spectacular view outside the window… drinking some Starbucks, reading a book and just generally trying to relax.

Also today I went to see the movie “The Soloist”, with Robert Downey Jr and Jamie Foxx. I thought the music was really lovely, especially with the surround sound… which they also used really well to portray schizophrenia. The storyline was good, but I wasn’t as into the movie as I would like. It’s based off a book, which I knew but forgot about, and about 10 minutes into the movie I realized I probably should have read the book first. Ah well. Still a decent movie, I’d recommend it but I wouldn’t watch it again.

6 Responses to "Lazy Sunday"

Oh yay on the “Water for Elephants” book. You’ll have to let us know how you like it!

I saw the Water for Elephants the other day on the front rack at B & N, but I have so many on my list already – let me know how you like it!

Ah yes, that’s actually how I came about buying it – it was on my list already, 2 people recommended it on my blog post and then when I saw it on the rack at Barnes & Noble I was like, okay okay, I’ll get it!

Will definitely let you know how I like it!

I wanted to see that movie, I saw the 60 minutes interview with the guy a few weeks, back and found it fascinating. I had never heard of the movie until then. I would recommend Star Trek to you. Loved it. and you don’t have to be a fan of the series to appreciate it either. Hope you are feeling better!

Oooh I would have liked to see the interview. Sounds interesting. And ha, my dad and brother were big Star Trek fans so I’ve seen a bit… might have to wait til DVD though!

Leave a Reply

