curiousillusion

It is what it is…

Posted on: May 6, 2009

I’ll be honest… I did not go outside with the intentions of taking a picture of this lock. I felt lazy after a long, hard day at work and was going to take some pictures of the flowers. Then I wandered around some more and found this shed on school property. And for some reason, the lock looked interesting to me, along with the texture of the wood underneath it. Hmm.

I was debating on taking a picture of the book I just finished reading instead. The title is I Loved, I Lost, I Made Spaghetti, and it’s a memoir by Giulia Melucci. When I gave the name of the book to the sales associate at the book store, the guy seriously chucked. It’s a good thing I asked though – the book has recipes in it, and was therefore located in the cooking section of the store. I would have never guessed…

By the way, is there anything better than a good book? (don’t answer that) When I was younger, I used to DEVOUR books… I’d stay up til all hours, finishing a book as fast as possible. These days I take my time, try to savor it… I read maybe only a chapter or two at night, right before bed or in a Lush bubble bath. And I hate when I get to the very end of the book, when I know the end is near and I’m about to have to say goodbye to the world I’ve been living in. I felt that way with the book I just finished.

The good news about finishing the book, however, is that maybe I’ll eat less pasta now. Every time I picked up the book, or even thought about it, I was suddenly hungry for some spaghetti. I have eaten more pasta in the past 2 weeks than most people eat in a few months, I’m sure! But it’s one of the only things I know how to cook without ruining – gotta stick with what you know!

Now I’m on the quest for a new book to read. I have a couple in mind, a list on my Blackberry… but if you have any suggestions, feel free to leave them in the comments!

12 Responses to "It is what it is…"

Water For Elephants by Sara Gruen was excellent, as was The End of the Alphabet by C.S. Richardson.

“Nation” by Terry Pratchett is a pretty good book. Anything written by him is fantastic actually.

Also, “Snow crash” by Neal Stephenson.

I’m right there with you on the books…I hate finishing a good book…I also generally don’t like to see a movie based on a book I’ve liked because it messes with the picture I have in my head…

“China Road” J. Marteen Troost.

Oh Golly, I could read all day long!

Some favorites:
The Poisonwood Bible
The Lovely Bones
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time
The Lust Lizard of Melancholy Cove (funny, funny!)
Dorothy on the Rocks
P.S. Your Cat is Dead
The Monsters of Templeton….

give me unti tomorrow and I’ll have more for you!! I read at least a book/week…even with the chaos of grad school and work…it’s my exscape!

Mmm… reading is wonderful. When I tear myself away from flickr and facebook, that is! I second “Water for Elephants” – both my husband and I enjoyed it immensely.

Other books I’ve enjoyed:

Under the Tuscan Sun – Frances Mayes
Forever: A Novel – Pete Hamill
A Prayer for Owen Meany – John Irving
Unequal Protection: The Rise of Corporate Dominance and the Theft of Human Rights – Thom Hartmann
The “Church of England” series by Susan Howatch
Sarum – Edward Rutherford

I am a total bookworm! I still devour books at a rate that makes my family shake their heads… I just finished the sequel “The Gate House” by Nelson DeMille. His work “The Gold Coast” has become required reading at several universities as a literature study. Both books are excellent and funny. The man just has an amazing wit! The sequel was almost 700 pages and I finished it in two days (and that was competing in a tournament in between!) You can check them out from the library too…

Most of my book recs are pretty nerdy, but have you read either of Joe McNally’s books – “The Moment It Clicks” and “The Hot Shoe Diaries”? He’s a great writer, and his books tell the stories behind some of his best photos for National Geographic and other magazines. I’ve found them to be really inspirational (and a fun read) for my own photography.

I second the recommendation for “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time”. Another book I recently finally finished is “The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Klay”.

i’m real big into paulo coelho right now. i LOVED ‘the alchemist’ — it’s a must-read if you haven’t already. i’m also in the middle of reading (and really interested in) ‘the zahir’ which is about obsession. i also just finished reading ‘warrior of the light’ which is more like a collection of poetry than it is anything. it’s certainly not a novel.

any of those three books by coelho are a win.

Have you read the Child Called It books? I read those a long while ago and couldn’t put them down.

I was the same way about books when I was younger. I read like all the V.C. Andrew books when I was in junior high. Flowers In The Attic rocked. You might want to check her out as an author. Drama… love… no sleezy romance. 😉

I also just read Maximum Ride by James Patterson. More of a young adult book but it is cute. Not chick lit so you might not like it…

And don’t forget Book Three of the Fever books! 🙂

I already mentioned on Twitter The Patience of Rivers by Joseph Freda

others I recently read and loved

I Know This Much is True and The Hour I First Believed by Wally Lamb

Lavender Morning by Jude Deveraux

and I’m sure you’ve heard this a million times..(I haven’t read all of your posts yet so forgive me if this isn’t your thing) The Twilight Saga..all the books

Oh, I finished The Hour I First Believed last month and I LOVED it. So very much. Will go on my list of all time favorite books. Very powerful. And I own all the Twilight books, so yup, it’s my thing. Thanks for the other recs, will have to check them out!

Leave a Reply

