curiousillusion

Danger Zone…

Posted on: May 1, 2009


121/365 – Danger

Originally uploaded by curiousillusion

So as I’ve said in my project 365 page, taking a picture a day can mean a lot of different things for a lot of different people. For some people it’s about documenting their every day life (probably especially useful for people who have children), for others it’s about improving their skills. For me, I’m interested in improving my skills and pushing myself to do different things.

I’ve seen quite a few people take pictures of trash and make it look like it ought to be hanging on a wall, in a frame. Other people can take part of a bench and frame it in a way that looks amazing. And that’s one of the things that I’m striving to learn how to do… come up with unique ways to take pictures of ordinary things.

Oh and PS… when I wrote the word “ought”, the lines from The Lorax jumped into my head:
Boy: “What’s an unless?”
The Once-ler: [sung] Just a far away word/just a far away thought…
Boy: A thought? About what? About something I ought?
The Once-ler: [sung] Well… A thought about something that somebody ought.

Which leads me to one of my favorite quotes: “Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing’s going to get better. It’s not.”

Wow, what a random post… I feel like I went all over the place. Sorry!

10 Responses to "Danger Zone…"

Ok, I am ready to see an interesting trash can. lol

I like it. I wish I could get motivated to take pictures again.

Aw I wish you were motivated too.

That is a great shot. You really made the colors accent the subject well. It seems like something i would see in a desert. haha
just keep exercising that eye of yours 🙂

Don’t. Ever. Apologize.
This is your blog. You get to be as random as you want. You don’t have to say sorry for jumping all over the board!
If I said sorry for every time I was random, that’d be the only thing out of my mouth.
Love your blog darlin 🙂
xoxo

Ha ha, you have a point! Okay, I won’t apologize anymore.

And thanks for checking it out. 🙂

Well, if you’re trying to get to where the uninteresting becomes interesting, you’re well on your way here. I say this not from the perspective of someone’s who’s done it, but definitely one who appreciates it.

Oh, and for me, it’s a bit of the same reasons…photography is new to me and so I get to take pictures and put a bit of myself out there in ways I wouldn’t have dreamed of before…it’s been a bit cathartic, I have to say.

Thanks Rob, I appreciate it! I’m trying… though some days I try harder than others, lol!

And yup, I totally have to agree with you, has definitely felt a bit cathartic to me too.

Leave a Reply

